DeWalt DCK240C2 Combo Kit Review for Home Use: Worth It? (October 2026)
The DeWalt DCK240C2 suits home projects that need both a drill/driver and an impact driver. It includes 2 batteries, a charger and a contractor bag, with compact tools and built-in lights for tight or dim spaces.
On this page (9 sections)
- What does the DeWalt DCK240C2 include?
- Is the DCK240C2 enough for everyday home use?
- How do the four combo kits differ?
- Which kit should you choose for your work?
- How should you set up and care for the DCK240C2?
- Does the DCK240C2 have enough battery capacity?
- Can you drill into brick or concrete with this kit?
- Is a combo kit better than buying a drill alone?
- How should you decide whether to buy the DeWalt DCK240C2?
The DeWalt DCK240C2 suits home projects that need both a drill/driver and an impact driver. The two tools, 2 batteries, charger and contractor bag make it a practical starting set for repairs, furniture assembly and small projects.
Compact designs help when a tool needs to fit into a tight spot, and the built-in lights help in dim work areas. Battery capacity isn't stated, so consider how long your usual jobs take and whether you can pause for charging.
What does the DeWalt DCK240C2 include?
The DCK240C2 pairs a DCD771 drill/driver with a DCF885 impact driver. It also comes with 2 batteries, a charger and a contractor bag.
DeWalt DCK240C2 Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit: Best for home projects
- DCD771 drill/driver and DCF885 impact driver
- 2 included lithium-ion batteries
- Integrated LED lights with 20-second delay
- Contractor bag
A two-tool kit for home projects that call for both drilling and fastening. Compact tools, 2 batteries, a charger and a bag cover the basic kit needs.
Pros
- Two tools handle drilling and fastening
- Compact designs suit tight spaces
- LED lights have a 20-second delay
- Includes 2 batteries, charger and bag
Cons
- Battery capacity is not stated in the product data
- The drill has no stated hammer mode
The drill/driver is for drilling and general screw work. The impact driver is for fastening, and its 1/4 in hex chuck accepts 1 in bit tips for one-handed loading.
Both tools have integrated LED lights with a 20-second delay. DeWalt specifies up to 300 UWO for the drill/driver and up to 1,400 in-lb of torque for the impact driver.
Who will get the most from the DCK240C2?
This kit fits homeowners who expect to alternate between drilling pilot holes and driving screws. Keeping a drill bit in one tool and a driver bit in the other saves bit changes during a project such as installing shelves or assembling furniture.
The compact designs suit work near corners and inside cabinets. The contractor bag gives you a place to keep the tools, batteries and charger together between jobs.
Who should skip this kit?
Skip the DCK240C2 if you need a hammer mode for masonry holes. No hammer function is specified for its drill/driver, so choose a hammer drill for brick or concrete work and use an appropriate masonry bit.
It may also be a poor fit if you need a published battery capacity to plan long sessions. Compare the Craftsman or Makita kit below if a stated capacity is important to your choice.
Is the DCK240C2 enough for everyday home use?
For common home repairs, the DCK240C2 has the two tool types many jobs call for. The drill/driver covers holes and general screw work, while the impact driver is useful for projects with repeated fastening.
Think about your typical tasks before buying. Hanging shelves, installing curtain hardware, assembling furniture and building small wood projects are natural jobs for a drill and impact driver set.
A single drill/driver may be enough for occasional jobs if you don't mind changing bits. Our cordless drill buying guide can help you decide whether a separate impact driver belongs in your kit.
How do the four combo kits differ?
The DCK240C2 fits buyers who value compact tools, a bag and two batteries. The alternatives make different details easier to compare: Craftsman states battery capacity, Makita gives tool dimensions, and Skil offers brushless motors and drill settings.
| Kit | Batteries | Useful distinction |
|---|---|---|
| DeWalt DCK240C2 | 2, capacity not stated | Compact design and integrated LED lights |
| Craftsman V20 MAX | 2 x 2Ah | Two-speed drill gearbox and included bits |
| Makita CT225SYX | 2 x 1.5Ah | Stated tool lengths and weights |
| Skil PWRCORE 20V | 1 x 2.0Ah | Brushless motors and 17 drill torque settings |
| Product | Best for | Tools | Batteries | Included | Our score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DeWalt DCK240C2 Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit | home projects | Drill/driver and impact driver | 2 included lithium-ion batteries | Charger and contractor bag | 9.2 |
| Craftsman V20 MAX Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit | longer work sessions | CMCD700 drill/driver and CMCF800 impact driver | 2 included 2Ah lithium-ion batteries | Charger, storage bag and 2 bits | 8.0 |
| Makita CT225SYX 18V LXT Compact 2-Piece Combo Kit | tight work areas | XFD10Z drill/driver and XDT11Z impact driver | 2 included 1.5Ah lithium-ion batteries | Charger and tool bag | 8.5 |
| Skil PWRCORE 20V Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit | brushless features | Drill/driver and impact driver | Charger and 2 bits | 7.3 |
The best cordless drill combo kits page compares more sets by features and intended use. If you're choosing between the two tool types themselves, our guide to impact driver vs drill explains where each one fits.
Which kit should you choose for your work?
Choose according to the features you'll use most, then check whether the battery setup fits your work pattern. Each kit pairs a drill/driver with an impact driver, but the included batteries and accessories differ.
DeWalt DCK240C2: best for home projects
Choose the DeWalt if you want compact tools, lights on both tools and a contractor bag. The kit has 2 batteries and a charger, and the impact driver supports one-handed bit loading.
Skip it if you need a stated battery capacity or a hammer function. Its two batteries give you another one to use while the other charges, but capacity and runtime aren't specified.
Craftsman V20 MAX: best for longer work sessions
The Craftsman V20 MAX includes 2 batteries rated at 2Ah each, a charger, bag and 2 bits. Its drill has a two-speed gearbox with stated ranges of 0–350 RPM and 0–1,500 RPM.
Choose it if published battery capacity is a priority and those included accessories suit your projects. Its impact driver is specified at up to 1,460 in-lb of torque.
Makita CT225SYX: best for tight work areas
Makita states the drill is 7-1/4 in long and weighs 3.3 lb with battery. The impact driver is 5-3/8 in long and weighs 2.8 lb with battery.
Choose this set when tool length matters in the spaces where you work. It includes 2 batteries, a charger and a bag, and the drill has 2 speed ranges.
Skil PWRCORE 20V: best for brushless features
The Skil kit includes digital brushless motors, variable-speed triggers and 17 drill torque settings plus drill mode. The drill has a 1/2 in keyless chuck, and the impact driver has a 1/4 in hex collet.
Choose it if those motor and drill features suit your work. It includes one 2.0Ah battery, a charger and 2 bits, but no tool bag.
How should you set up and care for the DCK240C2?
Start by charging a battery and fitting the bit for the job. Use the drill/driver for a hole or general screw work, then use the impact driver for fastening; seat the bit fully in its hex chuck before use.
Keep your free hand clear of the bit and workpiece, and hold the tool firmly. Use steady pressure and let the tool do the work instead of forcing it, especially as a screw reaches its final depth.
After a job, remove the battery before changing a bit or cleaning the tool. Store the tools and batteries in the bag, keep the charger and contacts free of dust, and follow the battery and charger instructions for charging and storage.
What mistakes should you avoid?
Don't use the impact driver as your default choice for every hole. Its hex collet is meant for compatible tips; use the drill/driver and a suitable drill bit when making ordinary holes.
Don't assume a 20V label tells you how long a battery will last. Battery capacity isn't stated for the DeWalt kit, and workload also affects how often you'll need to recharge.
Avoid drilling into brick or concrete with a tool that has no hammer mode specified. See our guide to drilling into brick with a cordless drill for material-specific steps, and use a hammer drill for concrete when the job calls for it.
Does the DCK240C2 have enough battery capacity?
The DCK240C2 includes 2 lithium-ion batteries, but their capacity isn't stated. The spare battery can be useful while the other charges, but it doesn't tell you how much work either battery can handle per charge.
For occasional repairs, the kit's two-battery setup may be enough to keep work moving. If you expect many holes or fasteners in one session, plan for charging breaks and compare it with kits that state their battery capacity.
Don't choose by voltage alone. The kits here have different battery setups and tool features, so compare the details that matter for your tasks.
Can you drill into brick or concrete with this kit?
No hammer function is specified for the DCK240C2 drill/driver. For brick or concrete holes, choose a hammer drill and an appropriate masonry bit.
The right approach depends on the material and hole size. Our guides to drilling into brick with a cordless drill and drilling into concrete with a hammer drill explain how to approach those jobs.
Is a combo kit better than buying a drill alone?
A combo kit makes sense when your projects include both holes and repeated screw driving. Buying a drill/driver alone can suit basic home repairs if you're comfortable changing bits between tasks.
The drill's chuck accepts a wider range of bits, while the impact driver uses a hex collet for fastening tips. Compare the best cordless power drills if you mainly need a drill for everyday jobs.
How should you decide whether to buy the DeWalt DCK240C2?
Choose the DeWalt DCK240C2 for compact tools, two batteries and a bag in a home project kit. The lights help in dim spaces, and keeping a drill bit and driver bit in separate tools can speed up mixed drilling and fastening work.
Pick Craftsman if its stated 2Ah batteries matter most, Makita if tool dimensions guide your choice, or Skil if you want brushless motors and drill settings. If your main job is masonry, choose a hammer drill instead; for more options, see our cordless drill combo kit guide.
Frequently asked questions
Is the DeWalt DCK240C2 a good combo kit for home use?
The DCK240C2 suits home projects if you want a drill/driver and an impact driver in one set. It includes 2 batteries, a charger and a contractor bag, and both tools have built-in LED lights.
Battery capacity isn't stated, so compare that detail if you expect long work sessions.
What tools come in the DeWalt DCK240C2?
The DCK240C2 includes a DCD771 20V MAX drill/driver and a DCF885 20V MAX impact driver, along with 2 lithium-ion batteries, a charger and a contractor bag. The drill/driver holds drill bits, while the impact driver is intended for driving fasteners.
Does the DeWalt DCK240C2 have a hammer drill?
No hammer mode is specified for the DCK240C2 drill/driver. For masonry holes, choose a hammer drill and a suitable masonry bit; see our guide to using a hammer drill at home.
What is the difference between a drill and an impact driver?
A drill/driver uses a chuck to hold a range of bits for drilling and driving screws. An impact driver uses a 1/4 in hex collet and repeated impacts for fastening.
Our impact driver vs drill guide explains when each tool is useful.



